Learning & Teaching‎ > ‎Sports‎ > ‎

Academy Team Progress to Next Round!

posted 17 Jul 2014, 05:48 by Web Admin

U15 Cricket Team in the Suffolk County Cup

June 2014

On a cold and windy Monday afternoon the Year 10 boys, including two Year 9 students entertained Thomas Gainsborough School for the second round of the Cricket County Cup at Dellwood Avenue.

After losing the toss, Thomas Gainsborough elected for us to bat first with Ollie Rose and Ben Read opening the innings. Conditions were difficult for the batsmen with a strong wind blowing down the strip. A combination of great bowling, good fielding and bad shot selections by our batsmen meant Thomas Gainsborough, after just 14 overs, had bowled us all out for 80 runs. Not a bad score but a score we all felt should have been higher with the quality of players we have. Ollie Rose (24) and Charlie Driver (23) doing the damage with the bat scoring our highest amount of runs.

We knew that we needed to bowl and field exceptionally well for Thomas Gainsborough not to beat our run rate and win the match. Within the team we have some brilliant bowlers and fielders and this was shown when we took to the field. Some brilliant bowling by firstly Charlie Driver who took four wickets followed by excellent bowling from both Year 9 students, Hayden Dadswell (3 wickets) and Tom Boyt (2 wickets) and a deserved wicket for Ganenthiran Ramaswamy meant we bowled Thomas Gainsborough out for just 31 runs. This was truly first class bowling and fielding from the boys with Thomas Gainsborough pupils and staff praising the boys on how well they had played. Captain Callum Burrows, who was excellent in wicket, selected the right bowlers at the right time and an excellent all round team performance from the boys when fielding meant we ran out comfortable winners by 49 runs.

Round 3 will take place as soon as results are in, where the boys will be away to either East Bergholt High or Newmarket College/IES Breckland.

Fantastic performance by all the team.

Felixstowe Academy Team:
Callum Burrows (Captain), Ollie Rose, Ben Read, Joe Allum, Sam Peters, Adarsh Babu, Ganenthiran Ramaswamy, Tom Boyt, Hayden Dadswell, Edward Addison, Charlie Driver.