Learning & Teaching‎ > ‎Sports‎ > ‎

Magnificent Seven in Year 9 Cup Quarter Finals!

posted 9 Apr 2014, 03:56 by Google Google   [ updated 9 Apr 2014, 03:57 ]

Felixstowe Academy U14 Boys Football Team vs Ipswich Academy

March 2014

The Felixstowe Academy Year 9 Boys Football Team recently travelled to Ipswich Academy to play their quarter final match in the Ipswich Schools County Cup. 

Ipswich Academy have recently moved into a new building, just as Felixstowe Academy is about to do, and a brand new full size 3G astro turf football pitch which we used for the game.  The Felixstowe Academy team hadn’t played together since the beginning of December, so it was good to be playing a competitive match again. 

The Year 9 team created a lot of chances but were unable to find the net due to some great saves from their goal keeper early on.  Eventually we scored after Vincent Ramilloza crossed the ball and Luke Barnes side-footed the ball into the net just before half time.  With the score 1-0 at half time we knew that Ipswich Academy could come back into the game and we knew we needed to change our approach in order to score more goals.

The Year 9s listened to what was said to them at half time and started the second half very strongly, not taking their foot off the gas.  The ball rarely crossed into our half and Ben Barkes who was in goal didn’t touch the ball for the majority of the second half.  Goals started to fly in with Charlie Brown scoring 3, Luke Barnes scoring 2, Dan Horton and Farron Leggett-Gage also scoring 1 each.  Final score 7-0!

The Man of the Match award went to Matt Hazell who played extremely well throughout the game and narrowly pipped Charlie Brown to the award by 1  vote.

The players  had been feeling low after losing their last competitive game in the national finals, even though they reached the last 64 out of 760 schools in the country!  This was the perfect response from our players and we are hopeful that we can reach the County final.

Congratulations to every one of them!

The Year 9 squad included:

  • Nathan Baker
  • Luke Barnes
  • Ben Barkes
  • Charlie Brown
  • Matt Hazell
  • Dan Hzorton
  • Lewis Hutchings
  • Farron Leggett-Gage
  • Vincent Ramilloza
  • George Rawnsley
  • Luke Slater
  • Matt Tetley
  • Ieuan Turner